处理器定制

处理器定制

从现有设计开始

定制处理器内核最简单的方式是从现有设计开始,为预定的领域量身定制。Codasip的智能技术和高度自动化的工作流程保证了以最小的人工投入获得最快的结果!

如果您需要优化处理器IP核来处理某个工作负载,那么定制是最好的选择。在某些情况下,从零开始设计一个专门的内核意义非凡,但在更多的情况下,现有的内核可能已经可以满足部分要求,那么此时优化现有内核将是一个完美的起点。

为什么选择处理器定制?

RISC-V是一个从一开始就已经考虑到定制选项的开放的ISA(指令集架构),是处理器定制最为理想的选择。

RISC-V指令集有三类指令:给定字长(32位、64位或128位)的基本指令集,不同组的可选标准扩展和非标准的自定义扩展。

在RISC-V中有很大一部分操作码空间可用于自定义扩展,处理器架构师可以使用这种扩展来提供额外的处理性能,以解决特定的计算工作量。

如何利用强大的RISC-V进行量身定制?

RISC-V modular ISA

Codasip Studio

理想的定制工具!

 

Codasip Studio是目前市场上独一无二的设计自动化工具套件,用于使用CodAL™架构描述语言自动设计可编程的处理器内核。该技术与RISC-V ISA有着特别的协同作用(尽管它也可以应用于基于任何其他ISA的内核)。Codasip Studio提供了两种在硬件中实现定制指令的方法:

  1. 在处理器流水线中实现逻辑
  2. 用一个生成的接口连接协处理器

虽然目前市场上一些处理器IP供应商也提供工具和可扩展的内核设计,但总体来说这些工具仅允许有限的定制。而Codasip Studio在ISA和微架构定制优化方面提供的自由度要大得多。

通用方式方法

当涉及到RISC-V的定制时,市场上的大多数工具都依赖于手动编辑或通过额外提供的代码来完成原始RTL和工具。这种方法风险大,时间长,不适合灵活变化,而且有可能导致无法充分利用任何新增的定制指令。
Design Automation without Studio

Codasip创新方法

相比之下,Codasip Studio从CodAL描述中完全自动生成所有需要的工具和代码。这些全新的工具和代码可以自动识别自定义指令,且因为不需要使用内在函数,因此能够编译出性能更好的代码。

Design Automation with Studio
Codasip提供现成的RISC-V处理器内核,这些内核的许可方式与RTL、测试平台和SDK一样。同时所有内核也可以在CodAL源代码中获得许可,该源代码用于设计内核和生成SDK和HDK。CodAL源码同时可以被编辑,以创建自定义扩展,并修改其他的架构特征。.

我们的客户Microsemi(美高森美)最初试图用RISC-V内核取代一个专有的嵌入式内核,并最终选择了在一个音频设计中使用了Codasip Studio工具集产品。在初始阶段通过使用基本的32位指令集,发现周期数太高,在增加乘法指令改善性能以后,发现此举并没有达到他们的要求。最后选择与Codasip合作,创建了定制的DSP扩展,在处理器内核门数增长2.4倍的情况下,使最终性能显著提高了56倍。

客户最终不仅实现了期望的性能目标,而且代码大小也从232 kB减少到了64 kB,从而使所需的指令存储器面积减少了3.6倍。

The Microsemi case: Reducing cycle count with custom RISC-V extensions

The Microsemi case: Reducing cycle count with custom RISC-V extensions. Source: Codasip.

客户案例

Microsemi(美高森美)

联系我们

    请注意,此表格中的所有字段均为必填项。

    基于反垃圾邮件保护,做个数学题吧: 20 − = 16

Processor Customization

Jump-start with an existing design

Customizing an existing design is the most convenient way to your custom processor core, tailored for the intended domain. Our smart technology with highly automated workflow guarantees fast results with minimal manual effort.
If you need to optimize a processor IP core to handle a certain workload, you need to customize. In some case it makes sense to design a dedicated core from scratch, but in many cases an existing core may partially meet your requirements and can be a good starting point for your optimized core.

Why Customize?

RISC-V is an open ISA (Instruction Set Architecture) that has been created with customization in mind, and is therefore ideal for the job.

The RISC-V instruction set has three classes of instruction: There is a base instruction set for a given wordlength (32-, 64- or 128-bit), different groups of optional standard extensions and non-standard custom extensions.

There is a large part of the opcode space which is available for custom extensions. A processor architect can use such extensions to deliver extra processing performance to address a given computational workload.

How to Customize

Using the Power of RISC-V

Image

RISC-V Modular Instruction Set. Source: Codasip.
This work © 2021 by Codasip Group is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

Tool for the job

Image

Codasip Studio is a market-unique suite of tools for automating the design of programmable cores using the CodAL™ architecture description language. The technology is particularly synergistic with the RISC-V ISA (although it can be applied to cores based on any other ISA too). It provides two approaches to implementing the custom instructions in hardware:

  1. Implementing the logic in the processor pipeline,
  2. Connecting a co-processor with a generated interface.

Some processor IP vendors, too, offer tools and extensible cores which allow a limited amount of customization. However, Codasip Studio offers far more freedom, both in terms of ISA and microarchitecture.

How others do it

When it comes to RISC-V customization, most tools on the market rely on manually edited or additionally provided code to the original RTL and tools. This approach is risky, lengthy, unsuitable for flexible changes, and potentially unable to take full advantage of any added custom instructions.
Image

Design Automation without Codasip Studio. Source: Codasip.
This work © 2021 by Codasip Group is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

How we do it

In comparison, Codasip Studio generates all the needed tools and code from the CodAL description fully automatically. All the generated parts are new and natively aware of the custom instructions. We don't use intrinsics, and are thus able to compile better performing code.
Image

Design Automation with Codasip Studio. Source: Codasip.
This work © 2021 by Codasip Group is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

Codasip offers off-the-shelf RISC-V processor cores which are licensed in the usual way with RTL, a testbench and SDK. These cores can also be licensed in the CodAL source code which was used to design the cores and to generate the SDK and HDK. The CodAL source can be edited to create custom extensions and to modify other architectural features.

Microsemi used Codasip Studio on an audio design where they were seeking to replace a proprietary embedded core with a RISC-V one. They started with the base 32-bit instruction set but found that the cycle count was far too high. Adding the multiplication instructions improved performance but did not achieve their requirements. Finally, they worked with Codasip to create custom DSP extensions that significantly improved the performance 56× with processor core gatecount growing by 2.4×.

Not only did they achieve their performance goal but their codesize reduced from 232 kB to 64 kB reducing the required instruction memory area by 3.6×.

The Microsemi case: Reducing cycle count with custom RISC-V extensions

The Microsemi case: Reducing cycle count with custom RISC-V extensions. Source: Codasip.

Customer Use Case

Microsemi

Contact Us

    Please note all fields in this form are mandatory.

    For antispam protection, please solve the equation: 4 + = 6